Nigerian S/East Judges Omitted As NJC Recommends 14 Names For Appeal Court

share on:

According to a report by Sahara, the National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended 14 judges for appointment into the Federal Court of Appeal.

Close examination revealed that not one judge of South-Eastern origin is included in the list.

The list, which it splits into two categories, regarding their ‘priority and reserve’ contained names of the judges and their states of origin:

Names on the Priority List:

  1. Justice P. A. Mahmoud, a Benue State indigene, and Nigerian Bar Association AB Mahmoud’s wife as the first name in the priority category.
  2. Justice F. Ojo, an indigene of Kwara State and wife of Mr. Bayo Ojo, a former NBA President and Attorney-General of the Federation.
  3. Justices I. G. Abundaga from Nasarawa State, M. B. Idris from Niger State, and A. M. Talba from Adamawa State.
  4. Justices Kadi M. M. Alkali from Adamawa State
  5. A. I. Adenyangtso from Taraba
  6. A. S. Umar, from Kebbi
  7. O. Z. Senchi, from Kebbi
  8. A. M. Lamido from Sokoto
  9. B. B. Aliyu from Zamfara
  10. Ebowei Tobi, son of the late Justice Niki E. Tobi from Delta State and
  11. G.O. Kolawole from Osun State.
ALSO READ   Investment in a pilgrim will turn Nigeria around ― NCPC Boss


Names on the reserve list:

  1. Justices O. Itodo (Benue)
  2. M. A. Abdul Gafar (Kwara)
  3. D. D. Adeck (Nasarawa)
  4. D. G. Mann (Plateau)
  5. D. G. Goji (Adamawa)
  6. Kadi U. B. Umar (Adamawa)
  7. Justices Y. A. Bashir (Taraba)
  8. Z. B. Abubakar (Kebbi)
  9. I. M. Sani (Kaduna)
  10. F. L. Adamu (Kano)
  11. I. B. Ahmed (Katsina)
  12. M Y Uftsha’u (Zamfara)
  13. P. O. Affen (Bayelsa) and
  14. O. A. Ipaye (Osun).
Leave A Comment Below
share on: