Mbarara City FC Beat BUL to Earn First Ever UPL Lead

share on:


Mbarara City FC secured a place at the top of the StarTimes Uganda Premier League (UPL) after beating Jinja side BUL FC. Mbarara City FC’s new signing, Paul Mucurezi scored a goal to help the club join the top position in the Uganda Premier League. 

In a match played at Kakyeka stadium, Mucurezi tapped a score from Oriti’s cross passed by Bull’s goal keeper Hannington Ssebwalunyo in the 31st minute.

The first half ended with Mbarara leading with a goal 1. Five minutes into the second half, coach Mbabazi made two changes to contain BUL’s pressure on the scoring line.

Tuesday’s win by ‘Ankole Lions’ is a record breaker as it makes them the first team from Western Uganda to lead the Uganda Super League.

BUL’s coach, Peter Onen believes that the league is still a marathon and has hopes of winning the next games. He however blamed errors to the defense which cost them the game.

“It was just a mistake to the defense but otherwise the game was okay” said Onen. On his part, Paul Mucurezi was happy his team made history.

“To be on top of the league, Mbarara city had never done it so it empowers us to work hard as a team” said the goal scorer. Tuesday’s game was the first match Mbarara FC was playing at their home turf at Kakyeka stadium since it got a nod from FUFA days ago.

Mbarara city now is seated in the 1st position with one point ahead of KCCA, Bright stars and Vipers FC who share 15 points in a row. In their previous encounter, Mbarara City FC beat Paidha Black Angels 2-0. 

Mbarara City FC XI:

ALSO READ   Namuganza Wants Minister Amongi Investigated Over Give Away of Ranches

Ali Kimera (G), Othieno Stephen, Ahebwa Jasper, Hillary Mukundane, Alishe Asuman, Pistis Barenge, Kabuye Stephen, Paul Mucurezi, Semugabi Judi, Karimu Ndugwa and Orit Ibrahim.


Ssekeba Muhammad, Zayidi Byekwaso, Bebe Swaliki, Mihinzi Umaru, Ahebwa Brian, and Kansiime Sam


Hannington Sebwalunya, Farouk Banga, Richard Matovu, Willis Otong, Abdul Mayanja, Patrick Sembuya, Villa Oromchan, Yunus Sibira, Deogracious Ojok, Daniel Shabena, Douglas Timothy Owori.


ALSO READ   IPOD Meeting: Rugunda Passes a Moratorium on Police Management of Political Meetings

Paul Mujampani, Richard Wadyaka, Hakim Magombe, Faisal Muledhu, James Otim, Vincent Pimundu.

Leave A Comment Below
share on: