Lagos NAWOJ gets new executives, elects Ekine as Chairperson – The Nation Newspaper

share on:

The Lagos State Chapter of the Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ) on Thursday elected new officers to be led by its Chairperson, Mrs Adeola Ekine of the Lagos State Ministry of Information & Strategy.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Ekine polled 296 votes to defeat her opponent, and Immediate Past Chairperson, Mrs Sekinat Lawal from “Chief Detective’’ who had16 votes.

While taking the oath of office, Ekine promised to run a transparent and an all-inclusive administration during her tenure.

ALSO READ   Five new deaths were recorded from Lassa Fever in three states.

She also assured members to promote good and healthy relationship within the association as well as bringing all “NAWOJIANS ’’ together.

The newly-elected chairperson promised to bridge all gaps within the association.

She, however, appreciated all for the support given during the election.

The Chairman, Electoral Committee, Mrs Biola Beckley, also declared Mrs Bunmi Yekini of the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) as the Vice Chairperson with 299 votes defeating Tessy Ugomu of the Sun Newspapers with 11 votes.

ALSO READ   Becoming generational conscious – Leaders' Forum – Tribune Online

Beckley said that the election was free and fair in spite of the initial rancour amidst a purported court injunction.

“The committee promised to deliver a free and fair election which we have done and the new executives were sworn in by a lawyer from the Ministry of Justice,’’ she said.

Beckley, however, advised “NAWOJIANS’’ to work together and cooperate to move the association forward.

Speaking to NAN, Mrs Moronike Toye-Esan, Vice- Chairperson, NAWOJ Zone B, said that women should speak with one voice and cooperate.

ALSO READ   Taiwan approves same-sex marriage in first for Asia | The Guardian Nigeria News - Nigeria and World News

NAN reports that the following contestants were unopposed Mrs Lillian Ario, Secretary, Voice of Nigeria (VON); Mrs Sherifat Shittu-Maku, Treasurer, Radio      Lagos, Eko FM; Mrs Rukayat Adeyemi, Auditor, News Agency of Nigeria; and Mrs Abosede Adelaja, Vanguard, Assistant Secretary.

The new executives are to steer the affairs of the association for the next three years. (NAN)

Leave A Comment Below
share on:

Leave a Response