France vs South Africa: Europe-based contingent back in Bok team for France

share on:

Members of the Springboks’ Europe-based contingent have been named in the team to face France in Paris on Saturday night.

Willie le Roux, Faf de Klerk and Franco Mostert return to the starting line-up after missing out in last week’s defeat to England at Twickenham.

Damian Willemse, who made his run-on debut at fullback on Saturday, drops out of the squad and is replaced by Le Roux, while de Klerk returns in place of Bulls scrumhalf Ivan van Zyl, who also misses out completely.

While both rookies gave a good enough account of themselves in London, the change sees some much-needed experience injected back into the Bok backline, which coach Rassie Erasmus will be crucial away from home.

“It’s good to have the experienced players back in the team for France. Damian and Ivan did very well last week but you need experience playing away from home and we are building squad depth for the Rugby World Cup, they will be back again.”

Eben Etzebeth, who failed to complete the match at Twickenham after pulling out injured early in the second half, is another notable name missing from the starting line-up and is replaced by Mostert, who packs in alongside Pieter-Steph du Toit in the second row.

ALSO READ   Roodepoort woman killed by lightning strike

Sharks winger S’bu Nkosi – scorer of the solitary try in the 12-11 defeat in London – is preferred to French-based utility back Cheslin Kolbe, who takes up a spot on the bench alongside Saracens prop Vincent Koch and Bath flanker Francois Louw.

Read: France vs South Africa: Brunel gives Picamoles a start against the Boks

ALSO READ   Electricity price hikes: How to save power and money

Springbok team vs France in Paris

Backs: Willie le Roux, S’bu Nkosi, Jesse Kriel, Damian de Allende, Aphiwe Dyantyi, Handre Pollard, Faf de Klerk.

Forwards: Warren Whiteley, Duane Vermeulen, Siya Kolisi (captain), Franco Mostert, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi, Thomas du Toit, Vincent Koch, RG Snyman, Francois Louw, Embrose Papier, Elton Jantjies, Cheslin Kolbe.

Leave A Comment Below
share on: