FG Inaugurates NCS, NIWA MAN, CRFFN And NITT Boards

share on:

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of former Chairman, Nigerian Trawler Owners Association (NITOA), Mrs. Margaret Onyema-Orakwusi into the Governing Board of the Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC).

Prior to the appointment, NSC Governing Board had Hon. Mai Mala Buni as Chairman, while Onyema-Orakwusi, Otunba Seyi Oduntan, Yekini Nabena, Lawal Yakawada, Hauwa Mohammed, Mohammed Daiyabu, Muhd-Danjuma Mohammed, Angulu Lolo and Surv  Lekan Adekanbi were appointed as members.

Onyema-Orakwusi’s appointment was conveyed in a letter dated 7th March 2018, and signed by the Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi.

While inaugurating the NSC board along with those of the National Inland Waterways (NIWA), Maritime Academy of Nigeria (MAN) Oron, Council for the Registration of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN), and the Nigerian Institute of Transport Technology (NITT) in Abuja recently, the Minister called on all new board chairmen and members under the federal ministry of transportation to eschew all forms of corruption and help government deliver on its responsibilities.

The minister asked all the board members to be transparent, adding that they are responsible for setting operational and administrative policies in accordance with government policy directives aimed at assisting the parastatals to achieve their mandate.

He also tasked the boards to measure performance against targets and to introduce broad-based policy measures that will curtail forms of deviations to ensure that the targets were achieved.

“I informed them to perform their responsibilities, like you know, the ministry will not oversee them unnecessarily, we will but, more like supervisory role and we want to make sure and ensure that there’s speed because, Nigerians don’t want to hear stories, they want us to deliver and also expect the board to also deliver in that line. We know there are challenges but, they have to deliver back to the society” Amaechi told journalists shortly after inaugurating the boards.

Amaechi also said that the board members’ appointment was strictly guided by the federal government circular on revised frequency of meetings for part-time members of government committees, boards of federal agencies, statutory corporations and government owned companies issued by the National Salaries and Wages Commission and the guides to administrative procedures in the federal public service as a measure to reduce the cost of governance.

Admiral Ibrahim Iko was appointed NIWA Board Chairman while the Board members are Barr. Ejike Anakani, Munir Uthman Mohammed, Hajiya Hauwa Gadaka, Ezekiel Adetunloro and Dr. John Harry.

Former Minister of State for Defense, Demola Seriki was appointed MAN Oron Board Chairman while the Board members include: Taiwo Tayo Ibitola, Hon. Garba Jiji and Sale Kuidawa.

The appointed Governing Council members of the CRFFN include Hon. Donatu Ozoemena, Benson Edosomwan, Abubakar Tsanni, Hassan Jonga, Sen. Bisi Oyewo and Otunba Moshood Tijani.

The Chairman, according to a statement from the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, will emerge through an election of the council.

Dr. Fred Latimo Oghenesube was appointed as NITT’s Board Chairman while Musa Dankadai, Ishiaku Daniel, Sani Bako Kangiwa, Martins Usman, Hon. Adamu Bullachuwa, Muhammed Imam, Hajia Fati N. Abubakar and Agboola Kelly emerged as the Board members. 

The post FG Inaugurates NCS, NIWA MAN, CRFFN And NITT Boards appeared first on Independent Newspapers Nigeria.

Leave A Comment Below
ALSO READ   EPL: Arsene Wenger reveals biggest regret of his 22 years at Arsenal
share on: